📱 project fi first look

After making the big switch from an Apple iPhone 7 to the Google Pixel 2, I was downright pissed when I realized that AT&T does not support WiFi calling on the Pixel 2. This was just one more reason to leave AT&T, as we get terrible cell reception at our house. So I went searching for a new cell provider and Project Fi naturally seemed like a good fit.

Project Fi Furry

enticing features

Unlike some of the other major carriers who try to entice you with streaming subscriptions, Project Fi focuses on getting the basics done right.

google's customer service

If you've ever called in to Google's customer service for any product at all, you know that it's second to none. And if you've ever called into AT&T's customer service then you know what it feels like to be punched in the gut. I know that Google will do what is right to solve any issue that may come up.

great mobile app

One thing I never liked about cell service providers is how it always felt like a guessing game when it came to how much data was used by what apps and how that affected my bill. Project Fi's mobile app is a simple and straightforward way to manage your data usage. You can set alerts at certain thresholds, see your usage history, and sort by application.

pricing structure

I love the pricing structure, it couldn't get any simpler! $20 for my line and $10 per gigabyte that I use. I typically travel been home and work, both of which are extremely "connected" environments, so I have WiFi everywhere. I used Project Fi's calculator to estimate my average monthly cost, which was around $40.

What's even better is that there's a built in unlimited plan. If you use more than 6gb ($60) of data, it's free after that! That means you'll never get a bill higher than $80! This puts Project Fi in direct competition with the unlimited plans from AT&T and T-Mobile.

no sim required

If you have a compatible phone, you don't have to go into a store to activate Project Fi. Just download the app, sign up, and you immediately have service.

just the beginning

It may seem like I'm gushing about Project Fi even though I just signed up, but Google's Project Fi is making everything about cell service convenient for the user. And to me, that's what makes a great wireless provider. So far I'm loving the service, and I'm looking forward to watching my bills go down in the coming months.