📅 project fi one month in

my bill was six dollars.

I can pretty much end the post here, but I'm going to keep writing anyways 😁

I've spent one month with Project Fi and its been a great experience so far. My bill was low, I had no reception issues, and I got an unexpected suprise from @BrandonHassler.

Project Fi Ice Cream

reception

Of course the first thing that should be talked about is cell reception. Project Fi uses a combination of Sprint, T-Mobile, and US Cellular towers for their network, and I gotta say, this blows AT&T out of the water. I used to have zero signal in my house, but with Project Fi, I'm all good. Moreover, Project Fi allows me to use WiFi calling on my Pixel 2, so calls are crystal clear while I'm connected.

voicemail

When I was on AT&T I had to download this cruddy application to see my voicemails. Now, voicemail is integrated within the Google's Phone app just like it should be! Integrations like these make Project Fi feel like home on a Google phone.

minimizing data

Although Project Fi turns into an unlimited plan after 6gb, it's pay as you go up until then. So you have a huge incentive to use the least amount of data possible. I kept my eyes peeled for open WiFi networks while out with the family on weekends, and Google helps out by automatically connecting you to networks you've joined in the past. I was also conscious of using my phone in the car, no social media scrolling to that eats up data. And for podcasts, I just download the latest episodes to listen to while I'm out.

While this may sound like a lot of micromanagement, it didn't feel that way. I was happy using my phone less in the car, and obviously it's much safer. The times that did require data usage (directions, googling necessary information, etc) didn't cause a big spike.

the bill

All that being said, I used 0.264gb which brought my bill to $26.81. But out of the blue I noticed I had a $20 referral credit from none other than @BrandonHassler, bringing my bill down to six dollars. I don't know him personally, but I owe him a giant 👍🏼

referral

On that note, I highly recommend Project Fi, and if you want to try it out, use my referral code and we'll both get twenty bucks.

K9M8M3