🎥 syntax live

My all time favorite web development podcast is Syntax, hosted by Scott Tolinski and Wes Bos. They put on a 300th episode spectacular where listeners were invited onto the show to participate!

And lucky me I got to go first! Scott remembered how to pronounce my name and I impressed Wes with my preparedness. So other than a minor audio glitch, things kicked off well. I chose to do three of the four segments: Potluck Question, Sick Pick, Shameless Plug.

🥘 Potluck Question

Is GraphQL Playground in production considered insecure due to introspection?

Scott and Wes both disable GraphQL Playground in production. And as it turns out, Apollo disables GraphQL Playground in production environments by default. One listener added that their products allows GraphQL Playground only from a VPN. That's essentially how we addressed the issue at Adobe, by creating a new authenticated route for GraphQL Playground to ensure users have authorization first.

🤮 Sick Pick

5.11 TacTec Plate Carrier

I knew I wanted to plug MURPHY, so I sick picked this plate carrier to go along with it. The 5.11 TacTec adds some extra resistance to my pull ups, push ups, and cardio. It also fits like a glove and doesn't restrict movement at all. Although the it's pretty expensive, I use the 5.11 TacTec every day and I'm definitely getting my money's worth.

🔌 Shameless Plug

MURPHY

After just releasing MURPHY how could I not plug it?! I gave the back story on why I chose to create it, and shared the tech stack I used to build it. Scott was interested in the process of releasing a PWA to the Google Play Store, so I spent a bit time of talking about the process and tools.

It was great seeing Scott and Wes again, and I'm honored to have been the first guest on the live show! Thank y'all so much for doing Syntax, it not only educates me and keeps me up to date with web development, but it's also super entertaining. You've built an incredible community that I'm proud to be a part of!